FINALLY! Baking and cooking adventures :)

As many of you know I’m back in Arlington for good (Insert a little happy dance here!)! I’m so excited because that means I get to make my own food and bake again!

Naturally, I started doing that this weekend. I knew I wanted to make something for dinner that would feed me for about a week, so I started searching on the only reliable source when you want a good recipe, Pinterest.

I love Pinterest. I wish I had been the one who invented the idea of cataloging other people’s ideas…it’s brilliant…and it’s my number one source of inspiration for all food that I make πŸ™‚

This weekend I didn’t have tons of time to shop but I knew that I wanted something relatively quick and easy and since Chewy was over, it had to contain protein. I settled on thisΒ Bruschetta Chicken Pasta. I adapted it just a little, but not really.

I used marinara sauce instead of tomato sauce and used a combination of basil, oregano, and parsley to season it. The balsamic vinegar sauce also didn’t seem to thicken, but that could just be because I’m impatient and have an electric cook top that I’m not used to yet πŸ˜›

Either way, it was easily one of the most delicious dinner’s I’ve made in a while!

chicken-bruschetta-pasta

I also made cookies, which are my favorite things to bake! I used the recipe on the side of the Trader Joe’s white whole wheat flour as a base and then added dark chocolate and coconut shavings.

They would have been even better if I had toasted the coconut flakes, but they were still really good!

In the process of making these cookies, I broke my favorite spatula…They get a lot more wear and tear than they would if I had a mixer, but I strangely kind of like mixing them by hand. Anyways, the handle snapped right off of my cute little spatula and since I was loopy and tired from long weeks of training, I couldn’t stop laughing!

broken-handle

It was so much fun to bake and cook again though πŸ™‚

I highly recommend you check out the Chicken Bruschetta Pasta if you’re looking for a quick and easy dinner that can feed a family (or feed a single person for a week πŸ˜› )!

Also just for the cute factor…

reese

She’s so fluffy!!

Have a great rest of the week!


Do you have any go-to recipes?

Leave a Reply

