Catching up

As I write this I’m hanging out in my apartment feeling like a real person after my first day of work after three long weeks of training. I have to say I think I’m going to love what I’m doing, mostly because of the people I’ll be working with…so friendly 🙂

Also completely unrelated to what I’ve been up to for the past several weeks, but the show Quantico is super good…so suspensful!

img_3249

aka my wild and crazy monday night of popcorn and tv shows on the couch (I still don’t have an actual TV so the iPad will do for now 😛 )

So lets rewind a couple of weeks. I started work at the beginning of September and I’ve been in training since…well up until today!

Every weekend I’ve been able to come home which has been nice since I’m still not quite settled. It’s also allowed me to try some pretty delicious food! Arlington. especially the Ballston/ Virginia Square/ Clarendon area has some great restaurants.

One of the first weekends back, I had an incredible burger at Rustico. First of all the restaurant was adorable. I didn’t get to take a photo, but they had a mosaic with full wine and beer bottles inset in sparkly shine-y tiles. It was gorgeous and my burger was delicious 🙂

img_3202

That first weekend that I was home was also the first time in my life that I was excited about a vacuum. Seriously though my vacuum is so awesome…the cord retracts into itself and its just the best thing ever. And it was on sale at Home Depot. It doesn’t get any better than that.

img_3197

I got the $88 pet vacuum…because girl hair shedding and pet hair shedding is about equivalent in my life it made sense 😛

After a very short 36 hours at home, it was off again. We got to go to Orlando, which was pretty fun. We got to spend a little time in Downtown Disney, which apparently has been renamed Disney Springs? What the heck…I do not understand.

Anyways, we at at a place called Paradiso 37, which was super pricey, but the food was pretty good. I had a very yummy mango margarita and shrimp tacos. The shrimp tacos were not nearly as good as Ford’s Fish Shack in South Riding, VA, but they were pretty tasty.

Then we were in training for the rest of the week, but we did get out one night to go to Rainforest Cafe. It was like going in a time machine back to my childhood. We always used to go to the Rainforest Cafe in Tyson’s Corner for my dad’s birthday, but it closed down. I probably haven’t been there in over 10 years.

img_3216img_3219

I got something called the Jungle Sampler or something like that. It was shrimp scampi, coconut shrimp, steak, and some green beans. It was easily the best meal I had all week!

img_3220

When I got home, I was able to work from home for a day just catching up on paperwork and things like that. The best part of being home on a Friday was able to find a good pizza place.

Having pizza on Friday is a tradition for our family (and a lot of other families 😛 ), so I wanted to find a good place in Arlington. I’ve still only tried one place, but it was awesome! It was called Pupatella.

My boyfriend found it on yelp and it had outstanding reviews, so we had to try it. It definitely lived up to expectations.

When we first arrived, the line was so long, that we had to wait outside before we could order. The way they do it, is you order and then you go find a seat and they serve you, which is kind of a cool concept. They also serve VPN Pizza, which I believe is some sort of standard for brick oven pizza.

It was 100% worth the wait. I had meatball pizza and Chewy had some sort of spicy sausage one (I don’t have a photo of his though).

img_3227

It was a good weekend for food. The next day I saw my parents for a bit and then Chewy and I headed out with some friends to see the JMU game at ATown Bar and Grill. JMU was playing UNC, which is a huge deal, but naturally we lost.

It was still a super fun game to watch though! We went to ATown because the alumni association was putting on a watch party for the game and oh my lanta, I have never seen so many people so excited about JMU in one place before. It was awesome!

Also I had some excellent potato skins. So rich, but so so so so good 🙂

img_3230

I also saw the coolest car in the world while we were there! So american 😛

img_3231

It’s been super busy, but it’s been great living in Arlington so far. I’m excited to finally be home for a while though. I definitely love traveling, but more for the sake of traveling and not for business 😛

This past weekend, I spent catching up on life and relaxing. Nothing crazy 🙂

I hope everyone has had a great few weeks and a super fun weekend!

 

 

Leave a Reply

