It’s Been a While…

So I’ve been on vacation for most of the last three weeks with a little bit of moving and painting thrown in there! It’s been crazy busy, but I’ve had a lot of fun visiting family!

I spent a few days at my favorite beach (aka the only beach I go to), Topsail Island. It’s like stepping back in time going down there. Topsail and Surf City, which are located on the same island, are tiny little towns and there’s really not much going on. I think that’s why I love it so much.

I’ve been going to Topsail every year since I was born and my mom has been going there since she was a kid as well! I love how quite it is and they quite literally have the best mini golf course ever. I swear they change it up a little bit every year and it’s such a blast! If you’re looking for a great beach…Topsail Island, North Carolina. Oh and if you don’t want to sound like an out-of-towner, it’s pronounced top-sul 😛

Anyways we stayed with my uncle and his family for a few days before we came back home and then I did some laundry and re-packed to head up north to Minnesota 🙂

My dad’s family all live up in Minnesota so I went to visit my grandparents and my cousins up there. My grandparents are actually in the process of moving…from a 3200 square foot house into a 15oo square foot apartment…so I spent most of the trip helping them throw out stuff and pack boxes.

It wasn’t the best way to spend vacation, but I did get to spend a lot of time talking to my cousins, aunts, uncles, and grandparents…even if my grandparents did take to calling all of us dictators for helping and throwing things away 😛

Anyways..Minnesota is such a fun place to visit. Actually I can only vouch for the summer, since the last time I was there in the winter I was 1 year old, but in the summer it is definitely beautiful. I was in Wayzata near Lake Minnetonka and there are plenty of cute houses and places to walk, run, and most importantly eat 🙂

I also watched The Bachelorette for the first time…I don’t know that I’ll ever watch it again but it is highly entertaining to watch people who love the show (like my cousin Maggie and her mom :P). We also watched Bachelor in Paradise…I’m predicting a train wreck haha!

Anyways, after I got back from Minnesota and all that packing, I basically came home and did laundry again and then packed up the car with my whole family and headed off to Maine for 9 days.

Oh and I bought a mattress for my apartment! I recruited my brother and my boyfriend to move it. I definitely couldn’t have done it without them…or my mom who found the mattress for me in the first place 🙂

Now all I need is a bed frame. I have a headboard, but not a frame since my mattress is a queen and my headboard and current bed is a full…I saw something online about a piece that can convert a full sized head board into one that would work on a queen sized frame. Something to do with sliding metal pieces. I don’t know, but my dad is going to definitely have to help me figure it out 😛

Sorry for that little tangent…I do have some fun photos from Minnesota to share with you guys!

One of my favorite boats in Wayzata on Lake Minnetonka!

Minnesota Boat

This is one of the coolest houses on the lake that I saw…It’s got a really modern theme and a huge coca cola trunk in the front which made me call it the “Coca Cola House”. I typically like much more traditional looking homes, but this one definitely caught my eye.

Minnesota coca cola house

The dock near the boardwalk on Lake Minnetonka.

minnesota dock

My cousin’s dog Duncan…Isn’t he the cutest?!

Minnesota Duncan

My cousins and I! The little ones won’t go underwater without goggles and thought it was weird if we didn’t wear them, especially since they like to have us go underwater with them. They’re just the cutest 🙂

As a former swim coach, I was stoked that Ana and George like to go underwater and that they’re not afraid of swimming. They’re both pretty great swimmers for a 3 and a 5 year old, so I’m so happy 🙂

Minnesota family pic

A photo of the lake I took on my morning run/escape from the chaos that was my grandparents house during the move.

Minnesota lake

Coffee from Caribou!! It’s literally my favorite coffee place, but it was bought by Pete’s Coffee a few years back. The only place they kept the name Caribou Coffee was up in Minnesota where it was founded originally.

Minnesota, Caribou coffee

Minnehaha Falls! My Aunt, Uncle and cousin took me for a hike around Lake Calhoun (which is gorgeous by the way) and then we made our way to Minnehaha for lunch and to see the falls. They were so pretty!

Minnesota, Minnehaha

I had a great trip to Minnesota…I love it there in the summer 😛 I can’t wait to go back and see everyone again soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

