A Lesson in Patience: Apartment Hunting Edition

So my roommate and I have been looking for apartments…as you can probably tell from the title of this post 😛 I’m moving to the Arlington area for work and I know the first thought many of you might have is why aren’t you living at home. I do live relatively close to the Arlington area…My parent’s house is less than an hour away, but if you know or have heard anything about Northern Virginia, you probably know that our traffic is the worst in the country.

It’s not an exaggeration…for the past two summers I interned in Rosslyn in Arlington. I took the metro to work and the metro is about 12-15 miles from my house. I kid you not, sometimes it took over an hour to travel that short distance on I-66…it was painful and it is not something I want to do every day.

So I’m moving. I don’t start work until September so I thought I had plenty of time to find an apartment, but apparently everything gets snatched up around June because in the last week or so, all of the apartments I’ve been interested in have disappeared off the market. I have to have patience. Patience, though many of my friends say it’s a strong suit of mine, is something that I feel I have a hard time with and I want nothing more than to know where I’ll be living next year.

Anyways…finding an apartment has taken up so much of my time. I spend hours upon hours researching and trying to find reasonable rent for a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment for my roommate and I and it can be very discouraging.

I’m fortunate that my job even allows me to move into Arlington (it’s also one of the more expensive areas in VA) but I definitely didn’t expect it to be difficult to find a place to live that cost less than $3000 a month. I’m attempting to save money for a car (my current one probably only has a year or two left) and just for life in general so I can do things like get a dog (the dream :P) and buy a house in I don’t know, 5-10 years?

Moving and looking for places to live, while coordinating with my roommate has been a challenge and one that I didn’t think would be a challenge at all. Well moving is just difficult no matter what, but actually finding a place to live is what I didn’t think would be hard. Especially finding one that has things that I really want, like a gym so I don’t have to pay for a gym membership…

Who knows…we’re visiting apartments today and tomorrow and hopefully we’ll find a place to live. If not, it’s back to square one and I’ll have to be patient and pray that everything works out.

Wish us luck as we go about the apartment hunt today!

 


Have you moved recently?

-Yes…I’ve been moving every year for the last 4 years. Hopefully I’ll stay in the same place for a while, but I just never know.

Do you enjoy searching for a new home?

-Sometimes! I like looking at all of the places, but I get bummed out when things aren’t going the way I’ve planned 😛

 

Leave a Reply

