How I stay active (and other happenings)

I love to stay active during the week and this week was especially fitness filled for me, which I’m a fan of!

I think I’ve mentioned before that I’ve been trying to build back up my running after having runner’s knee issues on and off for the past few years. It goes away and then comes back, but something I did this past winter pushed it over the edge and now I have runners knee issues all the time…yippie! Not really but it has been an eye opener into other ways to stay active 🙂

I’m 200% a morning person. Having to be on deck by 4:45 in the morning for most of my life is what made me that way…at least that’s my personal belief 🙂 I usually wake up between 6:30 and 7:30 depending on my schedule. Right now it’s closer to 7:30 because I’m not in school. I’ll wake up, make some coffee, and make a slice of peanut butter and honey toast before heading to the gym.

I haven’t been much of a gym go-er in the past, but recently I’ve been enjoying the classes offered there. I was always much more interested in playing sports or doing activities were I didn’t have to stick to a class schedule, but with more time this summer and not being able to run as much as I’d like, classes are great.

I take yoga three times a week, barre twice a week and pilates one day a week. The combination is fantastic…It’s a little bit of strength and stretching all throughout the week and several days a week I’ll run/walk a few miles to get in some cardio either before or after classes.

That being said, I know it’s not the most practical thing in the world to think everyone has time for a workout that is nearly 2 hours long…it’s just not something everyone can do and I’ve definitely been there. During my capstone project, I only had time in the morning so I got up at what felt like o’dark hundred to work out for a half hour to an hour…I’d either put on a yoga video in my room or go down to the apartment gym.

It was SOOOOO hard to want to get up and do a workout after staying up late working on a project, but I believe it is the reason I was successful. Working out clears your mind and just gets you ready for the day. It’s the hardest thing to do, but it definitely is one of the best things you can do for yourself. Any “me-time” is good, but I think it’s 100% necessary to get in some form of physical activity be it walking, running, dancing, whatever floats your boat 🙂

Now that my little rant is over, I did get to run a lot this week which felt fabulous and I realized that my new nail color matches my shoes 😛

Running shoes

Reese also accompanied me for most of my runs this week (I did them on the treadmill because they were later in the day and it was way too hot out).

reese

Isn’t she just the cutest?!

I also made a recipe that has been a favorite of mine for years. I forget where it’s from, probably Southern Living or something like that, but it’s called Pizza Casserole. My mom altered the recipe a while back so it’s something like this:

1 lb ground beef

1 diced onion

about 4 teaspoons of an Italian seasoning (I just sprinkle a bunch of Oregano, Parsley, Basil and Thyme and do a bit of a taste test)

1 Jar (25 ounces) of Pasta Sauce

1/4 cup flour

Pizza Dough

Mozzarella shredded cheese

The recipe is super easy! All you have to do is brown the ground beef with the diced onions and add your desired amount of seasoning. Then you mix in the flour until it is combined and add the pasta sauce. Once you bring the pasta sauce and beef mixture to a boil, you put it into a greased 13 x 9 inch pan. After getting all the goodness into the pan, sprinkle some mozzarella over the top and spread the pizza dough out over the top of that!

Right before you pop it in the oven, sprinkle a little more mozzarella over the top and bake it at 425 for 20 to 25 minutes. It’s delicious and usually has plenty of leftovers 🙂

I hope everyone has a fantastic weekend coming up! I’m headed out of town with my mom and Yaya to visit the Biltmore. If anyone has recommendations for places to eat in Charlotte or Asheville, I’d love to hear them!

 


What is your favorite type of exercise?

 

 

One thought on “How I stay active (and other happenings)

Leave a Reply

