Easy Saturday Morning Pancakes

I love pancakes…I eat them every Saturday and Sunday morning, but sometimes the same old recipes get boring after a while and I start looking for ways to change it up. That happened this morning after my run. I really wanted pancakes, but I didn’t want my usual Kodiak Cakes (which are great by the way :)). I was browsing Pinterest for some ideas and then I remembered by favorite recipe from last year when I was in Europe forΒ three ingredient pancakes. I had a banana and some eggs lying around so that’s what I decided to do, however this time I added a twist with some greek yogurt and PB2.

I was slightly hesitant because i wasn’t sure they’d turn out, but hey it’s Saturday, so there is plenty of time for trial and error haha! thankfully they turned out great! The greek yogurt made them fluffy and moist, while the PB2 added a nice hint of peanut butter taste! and for those of you who don’t know what PB2 is, it’s a powdered peanut butter with 85% less fat than regular peanut butter, but still with a great peanut butter taste. I’m not really a proponent of low fat, but I love this stuff for mixing into pancake mixes and oatmeal.

First thing to note before I’ll leave you with this recipe is I didn’t measure…pancake batter is one of those things that has a lot of personal preference surrounding it. I like both thinner and thicker pancakes, but this recipe leans more towards the thinner side of things. If you want them to be thicker, I would add some oatmeal or a little bit of flour in there πŸ™‚

Here’s the recipe from this morning:

1 medium sized banana
1 egg
a couple spoonfuls of plain greek yogurt
a couple spoonfuls of PB2

First, I put a greased pan on the stove…greasing the pan is key for these pancakes. something about them (possibly the eggy consistency) makes them stick like it’s nobody’s business to the pan if you don’t grease it! Once the pan was getting warmed up on the stove I started making the batter. First I mashed the banana with a fork and then added everything else and whisked it all together. Once I got the consistency that I wanted, I poured the pancakes onto my pan and cooked them on low-medium heat for a minute or two on each side. I was able to make 5 or 6 small pancakes out of the batter.

Hopefully you all enjoy these pancakes and have a lovely weekend!

Leave a Reply

