January Ipsy Bag

I skipped last month’s review because December was super crazy with the last bit of the semester, finals, and Christmas time. The bag was great, one of my favorites so far, but it I just ran out of time. This month’s ipsy bag is also pretty fantastic…I’m really starting to like this service! There’s just something about getting that shiny pink package delivered to my house…I get so excited to discover fun, new makeup products!

This month I received the 5 items that are typically included in the bag, plus a lip balm pot that I “purchased” with the points service. The points come from doing things like reviewing the products you were given in your bag, sharing things on Facebook, twitter and instagram, and various other things. I typically only review items because I don’t want to bombard my friends and family with ipsy reviews and things…I dislike when others do that, so I’m not about to do that myself 😛

Here’s the rundown:

OFRA Cosmetics Universal Eyebrow Pencil in Brown

Value: $13

Thoughts:

Now, I’m not much of an eyebrow pencil user….I have pretty full eyebrows. This product works really well for filling in some of the gaps when I haven’t plucked them in a while (which is fairly frequently with how busy I’ve been these days) and it seems to hold up well throughout the day. Everything stays in place and I have to say I’m pleased with this one!

theBalm Cosmetics Mr. Write(Now) Eyeliner in Jac 

Value: $17

Thoughts:

I love eyeliner…it’s a product that I didn’t use religiously until this past summer, but once I figured out how easy it is to use once you warm it up a bit, I fell in love! I feel like it makes everything look so much more put together, but that’s super off topic. This eyeliner is a bronze color, which is fun if you’re looking for something a little bit different. It’s a subtly color, but you can still see a bit of the shimmer and I really like it so far! I typically wear brown, so it’s a nice way to shake it up. The product itself goes on smoothly and easily which is something I really like as well.

Hikari Cream EyeShadow in Mink

Value: $13

Thoughts:

I like this eyeshadow more than I expected. It looks like it would be too shimmery and sparkly in the container, but when I put it on I was pleasantly surprised! I typically gravitate towards more matte eyeshadows because anything sparkly isn’t really appropriate for work and too much for classes…I feel it should be reserved for a night out. This shadow however is definitely wearable day-to-day! It’s got a subtle shimmer if you layer it lightly, which is great! I used it with the smudge brush that I also received in the bag and it went on flawlessly. At the price, I don’t know that it would be something that I would buy for myself, but thankfully eyeshadow lasts quite a while 🙂

Beau Gâchis Smudge Brush

Value: $12

Thoughts:

I have plenty of brushes already and I feel like they all serve the same type of purpose, especially when it comes to eyeshadow-type brushes. This brush is soft and fluffy, which is great and it seems to grab eyeshadow pigment really well. I’ve added it to my brush collection, but it doesn’t seem like anything too special to me.

Lasting Smiles Organic Lip Balm in Peppermint Creme

Value: $4

Thoughts:

This was by far my favorite mostly because it’s winter and my lips are perpetually chapped! I had never heard of this brand before…most of the time I reach for my Burt’s Bees when I want some lip balm, so I was excited to try something new! It has a nice minty scent and feel that is refreshing and I love the way it feels on my lips! It keeps them super smooth and has earned a permanent spot in my wallet which I bring everywhere with me!

Figs and Rouge Balm in Rambling Rose

Value: $9

Thoughts:

Ipsy provides opportunities to earn points every month by reviewing the products, following them on Facebook, twitter, instagram, etc. I don’t really like flooding my family members with random notifications and ads about the services that I subscribe to, so the only way I earn points is by reviewing the products on their website. The points add up and you can redeem them for an extra beauty product or two! Since it’s winter and I have notoriously chapped lips, I decided to redeem my points for this lip balm pot! I love love love it! it’s so creamy and smooth and it absorbs into my lips making them feel so soft! and any left over on my fingers I just rub into my hand and then my hand feels moisturized too! It’s great and the rose scent is so subtle it’s barely noticeable. I’m a huge fan!

 

The total value of this month’s bag was about $68…for a subscription that costs $10 a month, I’m thrilled with the value it’s been providing to me month after month! I’m such a fan!

Leave a Reply

