October Ipsy Bag

OctoberIpsy_2

If you don’t know what ipsy is, its a $10 a month subscription to get sample (sometimes full size!) makeup products from various companies. Every month, right around the middle of the month, you get a bright pink, shiny package with a makeup bag full of 5-6 items for you to try. It’s a really fun service where they give you redeemable points for reviewing the items and other random things like sharing the ipsy information on Facebook and things like that. I signed up in August and got my first bag in September, so this is my second bag. I want to review the bags to let people know what I got, but also to see if I’m getting my money’s worth and if I want to continue the subscription into the future ๐Ÿ™‚

Eva NYC Therapy Session Hair Mask

Size: 0.7oz

Value: about $3-4 (the closest thing i could find was the travel size at 2.03oz selling for $9.99)

Thoughts:

I loved this little guy so much that ย I might have to go buy more! I used it in the shower and let it sit for about 5 minutes while I shaved. ย I rinsed it all out in the shower (which did take a while, but that is probably the fault of my apartment’s crappy water pressure) and immediately could feel that my hair was soooo much softer. It also claims to make your hair stronger and to repair it, but I would probably have to use it a few more times before Iย would be able to tell a difference. I really liked this one regardless!

Peter Lamas Exfoliating Pumpkin Facial Scrub

Size: 1 fl. oz.

Value: about $6 (full 4 oz. size is about $26)

Thoughts:

I’m biased because I really do love all things pumpkin, but this scrub was so nice. It has a really gritty consistency, which might seem like it would do some damage on people with sensitive skin, but I have pretty sensitive skin and so far so good. I had been wanting to try this product after seeing it on Self.com in some kind of pumpkin/fall related beauty products slide show, but it had an expensive price tag, so I wasn’t about to go buy it (hellooooo college student on a budget!). I really like the subtle pumpkin smell and the way it made my skin feel after using it. I think it’s an awesome scrub if you can swing the almost $30, but I think I’ll stick with myย Botanics Shine Away Scrubย from target for less than $10 ๐Ÿ™‚

IT Cosmetics HelloLashes Clinically Proven 5-in-one Mascara Mini

Value: $10

Thoughts:

I love mascara. I really do..it’s one of my favorite things next to lipstick, but this one was not my favorite. I already have pretty long eyelashes so when I buy mascara, I generally buy something that will add some volume. This little stick added some volume, but not as much as I would have liked and I kind of felt like my eyelashes got a little too spidery, which makes me think of the crazy lady from emperor’s new groove :P. I really liked the foam handle on the top…that was kind of fun and different from anything I had ever seen before. There’s also a little ball on the end of the wand that is supposed to be something special, but I’m not sure what. All it did was make the little baby lashes close to my nose get all clumpy.

Emite Makeup Professional Slant Tweezersย 

Value: $35

Thoughts:

ehh…they’re tweezers. There’s not much I have to say about them. They’re decently sharp and seem to work pretty well, but they seem expensive and tweezers last forever so I’m not inclined to go out and purchase them or anything. I have had these Tweezerman mini tweezersย since I was in middle school and they still work great and are much less expensive if you are looking for a good option!

The Balm Cosmetics Meet Matt(e) Huges Liquid Lipstick

Color: Committed

Value: about $3 (the full size sells for about $17 and is about the size of a regular lip gloss tube)

Thoughts:

I didn’t think I’d be a fan of the matte look, but it’s growing on me! The balm has a slightly minty smell to it and it goes on nicely. It dries pretty quickly to the matte finish, which is nice and boy does it have staying power…I wore it through drinking coffee, eating breakfast and lunch and it was still there afterwards. I’m sufficiently impressed to say the least! I really like this formula, I don’t know if I’d buy it again only because I have about a thousand other lipsticks that I love, but I’m a huge fan of this sample!

Total October Bag Value: $57ย (give or take a few dollars)

Overall I’d say I really love this month’s bag. I’ve used every product and have found them all to work pretty well, which is great! And you can’t really beat the value…I paid $10 and got nearly $60 worth of beauty products. That’s fantastic in my opinion ๐Ÿ™‚

Questions:

Do you subscribe to ipsy or any other subscription boxes? Do you recommend them?

3 thoughts on “October Ipsy Bag

Leave a Reply

