Healthy-ish Chocolate Chip Cookies

So cookies are pretty much my favorite thing to bake…but they’re not exactly that great for you. I wanted to try to make a batch with healthier ingredients so I took a standard cookie recipe and made a couple of changes. The first batch turned out like cake, but the second batch was a winner πŸ™‚ These cookies use applesauce and coconut oil, both of which can be substituted for butter in some recipes and I was able to cut the sugar down by adding a little more vanilla. And the best part is you can’t taste the applesauce or coconut oil at all!

I only made a half batch in case they didn’t work out, but it still made about 2 dozen cookies.

Here’s the recipe:

3 Tbsp applesauce

3 Tbsp coconut oil

ΒΌ cup sugar

ΒΌ cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 egg

1 Β½ cup flour

Β½ tsp baking soda

ΒΌ tsp salt

chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Then mix all of your ingredients together in a bowl, or liquids in one and the dry ingreedients in another and then combine them. I added as many chocolate chips as I felt like adding, so I didn’t really keep track….just add as many as you want to make your cookies as chocolate-y as you’d like! πŸ™‚ Also, the batter will be pretty thick and sticky, so definitely grease your pans before you bake them and bake them for about 10 minutes.

Enjoy the cookies! And if you experienced any of the snowpocalypse this weekend, stay warm! πŸ™‚

***I forgot to take pictures because it was Friday and I was really busy…next time I’ll try to remember.

Leave a Reply

