Snow Day Fun :)

It’s been a while I know, but I’m going to try and get back into this whole blogging my food thing. I’m back in the United States, which means I’m back at school, which is the best thing in the whole wide world! Not that I didn’t love traveling all over the place in Europe, but it’s really nice to be home in a familiar environment 🙂

Yesterday it started to snow here for almost the entire day, so that means that we got the day off!! Wooooo college snow day!! For some people this means sledding…for me this means baking banana chocolate chip craisin muffins. Usually I’d be sledding too, but I wasn’t feeling it today and I had 3 very brown bananas 😛

This is the first time I’ve made this type of recipe for banana bread, but it is oh so good! I made the bread in muffin form for a quick and easy breakfast before my 8ams, but it could be in regular bread form, you’d just have to cook it a little bit longer. Other than the fact that a quick breakfast is the best thing in the world, these muffins are also pretty healthy! There’s no butter or oil in them, and a little brown sugar. And they’re delicious 🙂

IMG_1512_2

IMG_1509

Here’s the recipe:

1/2 cup plain greek yogurt

3 ripe mashed bananas

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 and 1/2 cups of all purpose flour

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

a dash of cinnamon (or more…I love cinnamon)

1 cup of oats

a large handful of craisins

about 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

All you have to do is mash the bananas and mix up the rest of the ingredients. It takes about 10-15 minutes to make the batter and then you pop them in the oven at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes or until the top is a little bit golden and you can stick a toothpick in and pull it out clean! Also make sure you grease the pan…I think the yogurt makes the batter a little stickier than normal. This recipe makes about 16 regular size muffins.

Super easy and yummy and a great snow day treat 🙂

Leave a Reply

